How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria?

February 15, 2012 § 2 Comments

I’ve done work in private offices, spas, and doing out-call.

One of my clients chose to do massage in his rental condo.  It was much quieter than a  house with kids. He had a cleaning lady.  Her name was Maria.

One day we’ve finished the massage and I’m cleaning up and putting everything away.  My client “Bob” had headed off to take a shower as he always did. I’m  cleaning up sheets, breaking down the massage table, blah blah blah.

I hear the door open.  The front door.

At first I think maybe it’s blown open as it didn’t always latch well. But I quickly realize someone has walked in.  I hear “Hellloooooooo!”

I answer “Hello?”

“Is Bob here?”

“Yes, he’s in the shower.”

“Oh. Is Jane here?” (Jane is Bob’s wife)

“No.”

*stunned silence*

At this point I’m thinking Maria must be wondering WHAT is going on. I’m also thinking this really doesn’t look good.  It’s the middle of the afternoon.  Bob and I are alone in the house.  He’s in the shower.  And at this point most everything is put away.  I’m folding up the massage table.  Looks like it could be used for anything.

I tried telling her that I’d been doing a massage and was just leaving. She seemed quite hesitant and uncomfortable. Also, English was not her first language so we were suffering a bit of a communication conundrum. She watched me.  Like a hawk.

She dropped off some clean towels and sheets and left at the same time I did.  Looking me up and down.  Waiting until I pulled out of the driveway where we were all parked.

So I sent my client a note letting him know what had happened.  Since, you know, it looked pretty bad.

Oh well.  At least she didn’t walk in during the massage. That time.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria?

What do you think?

What’s this?

You are currently reading How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria? at The Real Rub - Life As A Massage Therapist.

meta

